NatStats 2010 Program

15 September 2010 11:00:00

NatStats 2010 Program - "Measuring What Counts: Economic Development, Wellbeing and Progress in 21st Century Australia"
Wednesday 15 September 2010
17:00-19:00 Registration Desk Open-  Sydney Convention Centre, Bayside Terrace
18.00 - 19.00 Welcome Reception - Sydney Convention Centre, Bayside Terrace
Hon. Ms Carmel Tebbutt BEc MP NSW Deputy Premier and Minister for Health
DAY ONE Thursday 16 September 2010
08.00 - 17.00 Registration Desk Open
08.45 - 09.20 1. Welcome & Opening  
Watch Video

Indigenous Welcome to Country

Mr Brian Pink Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics

The Hon Bill Shorten, Assistant Treasurer
09.20 - 10.30 2. Morning Session -  Plenary: Ensuring Effective Policies For Australia:  A Public Service Challenge  
Watch Video

Dr Ken Henry AC Secretary, Department of the Treasury

Mr Paul McClintock AO Chairman, COAG Reform Council
10.30 - 11.00 Morning Tea
11:00 - 12:30 3. Concurrent Session: Productivity and Australia's Future
3A. Concurrent:  Better Financial Markets For Better Productivity
Watch Video

Mr Saul Eslake Program Director, Grattan Institute

Mr Michael Schur Secretary, NSW Treasury

Mr William H. Evans Chief Economist, Westpac
3B. Concurrent: Towards A Brighter Future: The Role Of Innovation And Technology In Productivity
Watch Video

Dr Terry Cutler Principal, Cutler and Company

Dr Ralph Lattimore Assistant Commissioner, Productivity Commission

Dr David Skellern CEO, National ICT Australia
3C. Concurrent: Labour, Education and Skills: Building A Clever Australia

Watch Video

Professor Barry McGaw AO PhD Director, Melbourne Education Research Institute, Melbourne Graduate School of Education

Mr Tim Lyons Assistant Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)

Mr Phillip Chindamo Chief Economist, Australian Industry Group
3D. Showcase: Planning For A More Productive Future

Watch Video

Ms Dorte Ekelund Executive Director, Major Cities UniT, Infrastructure Australia

Mr Peter Achterstraat NSW Auditor-General, The Audit Office of NSW

Mr Jeremy Nott Director, Social Policy, Insurance and Infrastructure Branch, Department of Treasury and Finance (Victoria)
12:30 -13:30 Lunch and Poster Sessions
13:30 - 13:45 4. Introduction to Conference Recommendations

Mr Geoff Allen AM Chairman, Australian Statistics Advisory Council
13:45 - 15:00 5. Afternoon Session  - Plenary: Australia In The Global Economy:  'Punching Above [Our] Weight'?  
Watch Video

Dr Philip Lowe Assistant Governor, Reserve Bank of Australian

Ms Martine Durand OECD Chief Statistician and Director, Statistics Directorate
15:00 - 15:30 Afternoon Tea
15:30  - 17:00 6. Concurrent Session: Global Impacts:  How Australia Weathers Change
6A Concurrent: Australia's International Trade and Investment:  The 'Pay-Offs' And 'Trade-Offs'

Watch Video

Mr Tim Harcourt Chief Economist, Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)

Mr Reg Howard-Smith CEO WA Chamber of Minerals and Energy

Dr Doug McTaggart CEO, QIC Dynamic Investment Solutions
6B Concurrent: Local Action For A Sustainable Global Community

Watch Video

Mr Rob Freeman  CEO, Murray-Darling Basin Authority

Dr Peter Newton Research Professor, Sustainable Urbanism, Swinburne University

Mr Richard Neville Futurist
6C Concurrent:  Immigration, Ageing and the Changing Population

Watch Video

Professor Graeme Hugo  Director, National Centre for Social Applications of Geographic Information Systems, University of Adelaide
Mr Mark Cully Chief Economist, Department of Immigration and Citizenship
6D Showcase:  Measuring Community Well-being:  Global Themes And Local Responses  

Watch Video

Mr Hayden Jones Assistant Director, Tasmania Together Progress Board

Ms Mary Doherty General Manager, Sanctuary Energy

Ms Bernice Steinhardt Director, Strategic Issues, US Government Accountability Office
19.00 - 22.00 Dinner - Dockside, Darling Harbour

DAY TWO Friday 17 September 2010
08.00 - 14.30 Registration Desk Open
08:45 - 09:00   7. Welcome  
Watch Video

Professor Paul Cheung Director, Statistics Division, United Nations
09.00 - 10.00 8. Morning Session - Plenary:  'Australians' Wellbeing - What does it mean?

Hon. Dr Geoff Gallop AC Professor and Director, Graduate School of Government, University of Sydney
10:00 - 10:30 Morning Tea
10:30 - 12.00 9. Concurrent Session:  Improving Well-being:  Measurement, Collaboration and Delivery
9A. Concurrent: Statistics for a Healthy Nation

Watch Video

Ms Jane Halton PSM  Secretary, Department of Health and Ageing

Mr Mark Cormack CEO, Health Workforce Australia

Mr Harold Scruby CEO and Chairman, Pedestrian Council of Australia
9B. Concurrent: Statistics And Social Inclusion

Watch Video

Ms Patricia Faulkner Chair, Prime Minister’s Social Inclusion Board

Ms Mary Ann O’Loughlin Executive Councillor & Head of Secretariat, COAG Reform Council

Mr Simon Schrapel CEO, Uniting Care Wesley Adelaide and President , Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS)
9C. Concurrent: Measuring Outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples

Professor John Taylor Director, Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research (CAEPR) Australian National University

Mr James Christian CEO, NSW Department of Aboriginal Affairs

Ms Carol Ey Branch Manager, Research and Analysis Branch, Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
9D. Showcase:  Wellbeing: Collaboration, Understanding and Delivery

Mr Andrew Stevens Managing Partner, IBM Global Business Services, Growth Markets Unit

Dr Siu-Ming Tam First Assistant Statistician, Integrated Collection and Dissemination Services, Australian Bureau of Statistics

Dr Sharleen Forbes General Manager, Statistical Education and Research, Statistics New Zealand
12.00 - 13.00 Lunch and Poster Sessions
13:00 - 14:00 10. Afternoon Session - Plenary: Measuring Progress
Watch Video

Mr Brian Pink Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics

Professor Enrico Giovannini President, National Institute of Statistics (Istat)
14:00 - 15:30 11. Panel Discussion: Measuring Progress: From Theory to Practice  
Watch Video

Professor Joseph Stiglitz

Mr Brian Pink Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics

Ms Martine Durand OECD Chief Statistician and Director, Statistics Directorate

Associate Professor Geoffrey Woolcock  Urban Research Program, Griffith University

Professor Paul Cheung Director, Statistics Division, United Nations

Dr David Gruen Executive Director, Macroeconomic Group, Treasury
15.30 - 16:00 Afternoon Tea
16:00 - 16:30 12. Conference Recommendations: Beyond The Numbers:  Strengthening Our National Statistics

Mr Geoff Allen, AM Chairman, Australian Statistics Advisory Council
 16:30 - 17:00 13. Closing Address
Watch Video

Mr Brian Pink Australian Statistician, Australian Bureau of Statistics

The video recordings available here are those for which the conference participant gave permission.
If the video is taking a while to load or an error message appears, please try again later.

Back to Program Page